End of Trimester Update – Postscript.

My sincerest apologies to y’all followers, fans and avid followers of my journey, the last week has been hectic to say the least. A final scramble to get over the finish line to not only pass my subject but also to hopefully get a higher grading.
I have gone through so many changes (once again) this trimester and praise God, all have them have been positive and a definite right step in the right direction. Consequently I had to churn out blog after blog to fulfill my learning outcomes, so I apologise for the blog bombardment in my feeds.

What did I do this trimester?

1. Improve Programming


Positive Results
On hindsight it was probably a bit too ambitious to try to complete four games before the end of trimester but I did manage to complete two whole games and publish them on itchio. My understanding and knowledge about scripting has increased ten-fold and compared to where I was at the beginning of the trimester I am happy with how well I have progressed.
I well and truly went over and beyond with my dev diary posts, which was a good thing and also surprised me how much I actually enjoyed doing them, even if they took up a copious amount of time and effortScreen Shot 2017-05-02 at 11.57.13 AMWhat Went Wrong?
I underestimated the time it would take to build each game, well it wasn’t actually underestimating the time but rather underestimating how much enjoyment I would get out of this. A lot of time was taken up through injectingΒ my own design flair and style in each game to make it somewhat uniquely mine. This particularly happened with Roller Ball as I went further and built three levels instead of keeping it simple and moving on.
Where Do I Go From Here?
I have two weeks break before starting the next trimester so I intend to build at least one more game and if possible start or complete a second game. I really have been looking forward to building the tank game, which is the fourth game of the tutorial so that is motivation to build the third game very quickly. I shall continue with my dev diary posts but this time only write posts about specific things I have made or learnt. Make the dev diaries more detailed and specific.
I still have a way to go with scripting, but my confidence and knowledge is increasing as I progress through these tutorials. I am confident my efforts shall be rewarded, it may not happen overnight, but it will happen.

So thank you for being on this journey with me, till next time.

God’s peace and blessings upon you.

Leave a Reply

